logo di documento pdf
Civil protection actions

Programme of Exchange of Civil Protection Experts

EU exchange of experts system is designed to complement a training programme tailored to the needs of civil protection interventions within the framework of the Community Mechanism for civil protection.

It is open to the participating states of the civil protection mechanism and the following eligible third countries:

  1. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey and “Kosovo” (this designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence). 
  2. Eastern Neighbourhood countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine 
  3. Southern Neighbourhood Countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine and Tunisia

The Community Mechanism consists of a series of elements and actions, which aim at facilitating both adequate preparedness and effective response at Community level. Read more about the Union Mechanism for civil protection.

Since December 2006 the Federal Agency for Technical Relief (THW), Germany, has been appointed by the European Commission as coordinator of the EU exchange of experts. THW has been responsible for its promotion as well as for its administrative and financial management. Read more about THW.

For more detailed information about the programme, download the programme GUIDELINES.